The Best Cookies in the Universe

 

So I stumbled upon a life changing  discovery the other day, the recipe for the worlds best chocolate chip cookies. Its been created. Its been found. World peace is on the way. 

The recipe is by Lindsay Hunt, who for Buzzfeed baked 900 cookies, in 38 batches, over 3 months. If thats not the kind of scientific research I want my government funding then I don’t know what is.

So I took her word for it, I baked the cookies, and after 1 failed round where I mixed up baking soda and baking power – no not the same thing apparently, who knew!? – I had a giant batch of gooey delicious cookies that I almost went into full Gollum mode over.

The original recipe gets fancy about ‘resting’ the dough and letting things sit and melt into other things, but I am one for instant gratification so I scraped those bits. I want nothing extending the time between me and my chocolaty goodness. I promise this wont ruin the cookies they still taste out of this world.

If you try this recipe let me know what you think, and if you have a recipe that you think can top this one let me know and I’ll try it out. You know. For science.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 cup of unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 2½ cups all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
  • 1½ tsp salt or ¾ tsp fine sea salt
  • ¾ tsp baking soda
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups chocolate chips
  • Flaky sea salt to top

How you’ll do it:

  1. PREHEAT THE OVEN. DON’T FORGET TO PREHEAT THE OVEN to 150 degrees celsius, or 300 fahrenheit
  2. Mix all sugar, add the butter and mix as hard and fast as you can until “the mixture forms one mass and starts to pull away from the sides of the bowl.”
  3. Whisk in one egg at a time and then add the vanilla
  4. Mix the flour, salt, and baking SODA in a separate bowl, and then add this in with the egg sugar mix as well as the choccy chips
  5. Now we roll up balls of whatever size you want, the original recipe says 1/4 per cookie but that sounds absolutely ridiculous to me so I did 2 tbs of dough per cookie and they were still pretty big. Press them down a little and sprinkle with the flaky salt if thats your jam
  6. Bake for 15-20 mins or until they are all golden with crispy edges
  7. The final step of the original recipe says to let them cool but lets be honest if you can resist biting into one of those perfectly gooey pieces of heaven (and probably burning the roof of your mouth) then you and I are very different people.

 

You can find the recipe on Buzzfeed here or here

Leave a Reply

